Sugar and Bone Char

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

I have had an entertaining couple of hours reviewing the state of the British sugar industry. It seems that British Sugar who sell under the brand Silver Spoon in the UK do not use bone char in the production of its sugars. The cannot certify brown sugars in the same was as they do not control their suppliers.

Tate and Lyle seem to be in the clear so far as bone char is concerned having not used it, according to them, for forty years. Billingtons are also bone char free.

Golden syrup is likewise free. I can heave a sigh of relief and treat myself to a glass of home made hootch safe in the knowledge that no animal product has been near my flapjack!

Thanks to roughseasinthemed, you have saved us from eating bone related products. It had never occurred. Our friends are equally grateful, … the word is spreading.

Comments
  1. Wow!! You saved me a lot of aimless research as I don’t even use the stuff. I remember Tate and Lyle from my university days in Liverpool. Such a romantic spot.

    Seriously, glad to help. As I said, I’d never heard of it, even though I don’t use sugar. Good work πŸ™‚

  2. […] Sugar and Bone Char (fromthepigpen.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggMoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

