Beating the bounds

Posted: March 10, 2012 in england, Spring, sun
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today was a gorgeous day. The sun finally put in an appearance about 11:30, by which time I was already on the plot. I had already managed some time planting a week or so ago and today, peas, cabbage, radishes, goji berries and raspberries are all starting to leaf. A warm day fine for a bit of fencing, merely intended to stop the raspberries hanging over the paths as they did last year.

Coloured poles placed, bunting set, old artichoke plants dug out, the end of the purple sprouting taken and rooted out. My private little world clean and tidy once again.

Afternoon sun induces torpor. Normally we would walk six miles or so, fairly brisk to try and keep the blood from clotting in the ever reducing arteries. However, today we managed 2.4 miles in 2 hours, what on earth were we doing?

We started near a pub, but dedicated to the cause of exploration we didn’t stop but passed through into the green. The sky was blue, the larks were up, sheep bleating in their pasture. Nothing disturbed the peace save the overhead buzz of a biplane, presumably taking pleasure seekers on a short flight from Shoreham Airport, the oldest in England apparently.

Having walked a mile or so we found a convenient wee bench providing views over the Downs and weald of my own saelig Sussex.

We made a new friend today, Jack. He ran to greet us with wild abandon. Sadly, too quickly he realised we 1) had no food, 2) weren’t who he thought we were 3) had no dog with us so he turned, sniffed and capered back the way he had come.

Having spent a good while gazing at the view which pictures cannot do justice to we continued passed the newly renovated Oldlands Mill.

 

The sun and fresh air having done their work we returned to the car before we realised the time. We emerged from the green as if returning from an enchantment, plunging once more into the traffic and chaos of a normal Saturday.

Comments
  1. Vicky says:

    The overhead buzz of a plane, returning from an enchantment back into the chaos? Sounds like the places I visit like to visit 🙂

  2. Beautiful day! Definitely spring like 🙂 In fact the first pic looks like summer. Lovely contrast with the white sails or whatever they are called and the blue sky, especially the bottom one.

    What’s the relevance of Phillip Miller (botantist) on the ‘Mill’ link? Was that intended?

    Can we have some pix of the veg plot too please at some point as I was expecting to see some of those. Thank you.

    • Sorry, flumaxed of Sussex has no idea why the link shows the botanist. (To be perfectly honest not sure how the links appear they just are in red). Automatically generated by the machines dictating what must be. It’s like menu’s on the ‘phone when you call corporate wherever. What happens if the option doesn’t fit and there is no button for ‘talk to a real live person’.

      Pix of the veg plot to follow, not huge amounts to see at the moment. I am going to visit tomorrow so will take a pic or two.

  3. Hello Flummoxed

    Must be something in your settings then. I think you need to take charge of that one swiftly. Who knows what wicked sites they could be luring your innocent readers into??

    Is it an allotment then??

    • I will most definately look at my settings. I do not want to mislead people.
      Yes it’s an allotment although I do use my garden too. Greedy me.

      • I could never get into allotments. Lazy me, wanted to work in the garden and nip in and out of the house at the same time. Easier to carve up the lawn 😀

        Don’t worry about the settings, I learned about the botanist and saw where the airport was on google earth 😀

      • I know what you mean about the green canker. I hate spending time on the grass but my superior half loves patch of grass … what can I do? Of course it does mean I can go to my ( half) plot make tea and blog.
        No such thing as a full plot anymore, we are land impoverished.

Leave a Reply

