A good walk ruined …

Posted: March 14, 2012 in big society, england, Land Rover, Leisure, Spring, wilderness

 

A peaceful day, sun shining, the South Downs like a reclining venus sunning her curves in the first spring sunshine of the year.

Hunting pink abounds, there are harsh cries on the downs. Yelping harpies no longer filled with their former blood lust. Now hunt and hounds seem content to chase men not foxes. The followers follow, the hounds howl, the hunting horn calls vue halloo but the quarry is either sacks dragged by quad bikes or men in Nike running shoes, ‘just do it’.

No! Please don’t just do it. My stroll up the to the ridge was shattered by 4x4xfar driving past in convoy each blue fumed spewing monster slower, noisier and fouler smelling than the last. Once they had gone the trail was overtaken by quadbikes carrying men with overloud voices to let us know they were ‘hunting‘ (as if we hadn’t guessed, they assume my IQ matches their’s perhaps) all this traffic interspersed with lovely horses carrying less lovely humans, ‘Rather” ‘Eh What’ ‘Good show.’

At the ridge the gathering behaved as hunters have since they first started to chase foxes in this way, stirrup cups, nibbles and bearing down on the footborne peasantry to make them remove themselves from ‘Moi Laaand’ and for God‘s sake stop making the place look untidy.

The only positive was that the fox appeared not to be the main quarry of the day but a piece of foul smelling sacking dragged behind and equally foul quad bike driven by equally foul men.

Once the horse and hounds had outstripped the casual bystanders, glad handing each other at being able to take part in such a spectacular event, there is no telling what hounds found. My guess is the master of hounds took them away from the noxious sack and they probably found some living breathing creature to chase; or am I overly cynical?

Fortunately for me the hounds rode East, I was walking West. A and I left with our thoughts and stunning views across the downs to the Seven Sisters. was the white chalk really stained red? Or was that just my imagination running wild.

 

No, it seems it was just my imagination (queue song) …

Comments
  1. Vicky says:

    I find it very hard to believe that any dog would continue to follow a piece of sacking if Mr Reynard had inadvertently crossed their path. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Absolutely right just trying to convey the fault is human (ours? ) Dogs do what dogs do, should we encourage / train them? R

      • Vicky says:

        I’m very anti blood sports of any sort. I certainly don’t think dogs should be trained to aid the laded gentrys’ fun (I don’t believe they stick to drag hunting for one minute), anymore than for the yobs dog fighting, which is supposed to be banned too.
        Yes a stray/feral dog will need to hunt to survive, but humans don’t have any need to make use of this ability at all.

  2. I think you have been reading my mind this time, as well as my blogs. I too wrote about hunting yesterday, except it was big game – http://cloudsmovingin.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/just-another-day-shooting-the-shit-out-of-a-few-poor-animals/

    I’ve had a post in my head for ages about hunting (foxes) and never got round to publishing it, something else always seems to come up ๐Ÿ˜€ Totally agree with what Vicky says.

    That last photo is lovely, it looks like a watercolour – the cliffs look unreal in that light. Or did you fiddle with the photo? ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I will have a look at your post, funny old thing coincidence, I don’t believe in it an then …

      Only had to do hunt San duty once thankfully. We didn’t find any. Nit sure what I would have done if we had. Hard choice lose my job for gross misconduct or break my personal moral code.

      I was very pleased with the pic. It was hazy and that is just how it came out. No idea what I did.

  3. That would have been difficult ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was surprised to see Hunt Sabs (it take it that’s what you meant) were still going given the so-called ban on fox-hunting, and it was chatting about it, and then looking it up that made me think about doing a post. At some point.

    The photo is slightly hazy over the cliffs but clear in the foreground where the houses are, that’s why it looks slightly unreal. (to me). In fact looking at it more closely again – the haze (sea fret?) sort of starts midway down the cliffs. Whatever, it’s still a good effect.

    • My day of anti sabbing was pre ban days. It was just seeing the hunt brought it back to me. I have several issues with the job at the moment and the sights and sounds just took me back.
      I did respond to Gregg’s but hit the wrong button on the phone. Lost the will…

  4. alisonamazed says:

    Beautiful picture of the Seven Sisters from the downs.

Leave a Reply

