A tongue in cheek response.

http://cloudsmovingin.wordpress.com/2008/05/03/daddys-little-princess/

 

Mummy’s Little Prince, Mummies little boy.

Brush his hair, straighten his tie. Have you got your handkerchief and door key? Mum I’m 25.

Don’t get drunk, is she a nice girl ? That shirt’s not pressed why don’t you wear that scarf you got for Christmas? Ma I’m 19.

You’re going out? Do take care there are strange people about. I’m on leave from the Army!!

My father regaled me, as a boy, with tales of derring do,

Paternal Grandpa Rifleman hero through both 1 and World War 2

My uncle, name of Roy you know, a kilted Argyll

Wounded in Korea was, came home ill and died.

Dad a Black Jock, served overseas in Berlin during the blockade

Guarding our borders keep the hun bear at bay

A soldiers life for me.

Recurrent themes / instructions through my life as a male of the species:

Do as I say not what I do. Do your duty. Service before self.  Look after the weak. Treat all women with courtesy. Defer to your elders. You work hard, become heroic. Be worthy of the family name. Make a good marriage (someone we approve of a nice working class girl). Have a son to keep the name alive. Be true to your roots. Have high morals. Be truthful. Be honourable.

So as little more than a boy I follow dad into the construction trades, a bricky.

Dad, No that’s not right at all. Okay then a soldiers life for me.

Mum. You’re too young. We will only consent if you get a proper trade, something to use if it doesn’t work out. Fine, I’ll be a Military Policeman, ready job when I finish my time.

Dad. Not a proper soldier then, no more highland dress.

On leave from the troubles, bricks and bombs and stones.

You don’t know about fighting, son, don’t tell me I don’t want to know. Your brother he’s done well, a surveyor now.

A failure then at twenty, not an infanteer, I leave the cradle of my corps, I meet The One and fall in love, but; she’s well, not poor.

A decision made, I will me improve, I’ll train to be a … Lawyer. Marriage comes in London town, back to the family roots. Morning suits that’s what we’ll wear, No son that’s posh.

My apolitical parent / sibling stand on working roots. A lounge suit lad, that’s what we’ll wear we do not give a hoot.

we’re working class we know our place forelock doffed to all, ideas above your station.

Work hard days study nights pass all my exams, suppose your too good for us oh well we’ll endure.

A granddaughter comes to we at last we laugh and love a while, your brother has a son you know, our name goes on a while.

A son, he comes hard on the heels of girl a bouncy baby boy, your nephew has a scholarship, your niece a clever girl.

My lawyering over a copper me, blue collar back again, your brother’s been arrested now the pigs are so unfair.

I know you have got it tough, depending on where you’re from,

everyone expects, then holds you down you may have a child.

A princess you, courted by false prince,

A prince should I be, blown into bloody meat,

As a young lawyer I was always impressed by any woman at the bar, young or old. In order to be accepted they had to be twice as good as their male counterparts to overcome the prejudice. I do think this has changed a bit. On the big issues, I cannot hold a candle to the problems encountered by those I must, by upbringing, put on a pedestal.

From the male perspective, do what you are told, marry a nice (ie approved) woman, do what she tells you, produce the right sex offspring in the correct order (Oh failed picked the wrong one should have agreed to marry someone selected for me).

I think it is a generational belief in the ways of the past. Of course if you go back far enough life was a true partnership (although the boys do appear to have an easier time although they could die!) Women folk, because they bore children, were of necessity more valuable and needed to be secure / protected for the future generations. They were the repositories of the knowledge which would ensure survival of the species. Men, because hunting was more dangerous, would provide the bulk protein for the family group. Each individual however, was as important as the other. It is just that ‘Civilisation’ spoiled the relationship, and everything else.

Sorry it’s been a bit long.

Comments
  1. 🙂 Another morning off before the afternoon late shift today eh?

    Of course, it’s not that tongue in cheek though is it? And it’s actually quite complex. My original post was pretty straightforward about the societal (patriarchal) and artificial conditioning of women that starts at an early age.

    Individual parental expectations are somewhat different. Conditioned by societal views, but also personal. I’m sure none of us do what our parents want. Getting married on the other side of the world to someone I had met a few months before probably wasn’t one of my most popular moves. And to a tradesperson too. Then we announced we weren’t having kids so (only child), grandma and grandpa were not to be.

    We all have to live our own lives. Interesting that as you are a parent you will have a different take and a different insight to me.

    • Sort of, finished at midnight and was typing a report at 7 this morning as I won’t be in bang on 2 this afternoon.

      Well, tongue in cheek in so far as I agree with your princess piece but just felt I had to stick up for us poor blokes who probably, as a generalisation, don’t deserve anyone to stick up for them. Also didn’t want it taken too seriously. As with a lot of what I say a bit of a caricature.

      I could, I suppose, make a comment about how the middle classes, IMHO, are male dominated whereas the downtrodden worker relies on every member of the family to play their part. When you live in a slum being brought up with fourteen kids and three families in a two up two down in the east end no-one is telling you you’re a princess. But that might sound bitter which I ain’t. Also I don’t remember my old man having much time to think and form opinions, rather to repeat the opinions given to him by state and The Express!

      Hope it brought a wry smile, that was the intention ….

  2. You invariably make me smile/think/ or just give me an enjoyable few minutes.

    Of course it does beg another post about women and their sons and what they want for them, but I don’t feel up to that one today 😀 too much to do before everything shuts tomorrow 😦

  3. Glad to be of service ma’am 😉

    I’m afraid I don’t feel qualified to say what women want for their sons but I might do something about Queen and country.

    If I get caught up in stuff have a lovely bank holiday, no work Hoooooooray just hope the weather bucks up so I can get out.

Leave a Reply

