English surprises in April

Posted: April 20, 2012 in england, environment, Leisure, Sky, Spring, storms, sun
Tags: , , , ,

Enough of the ranting already, time to prove there is more than a little joy in thepigpen. A 15 minute stroll from our house is a wood.

 

I love woods, a closed and closeted environment which surrounds a soul in womb like comfort. The scuffle of small animals in decaying undergrowth, the song of birds stirring in the dank air to mark and guard their place. The open glades and denser thickets, such a huge variety of space in such a small area.

The patch of soft earth near badgers set to be avoided, the sudden dart of doe in undergrowth. The unexpected opening of the canopy reveals the raptor soaring overhead. The path leads to a small stream where Robin sings and cavorts at waters edge, the unexpected sight of a house.

A perfect day whatever the weather.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments
  1. Vicky says:

    I’m not a great lover of woodland, but I do love the wildlife that can be found there.
    The sky on one of your slideshow pics looks very similar to the sky we had today 🙂

    • I think it may be genetic, my grandfather was an underwoodsman. Your recent post has some lovely trees in. 😉

      • Vicky says:

        I think you could be right there. I have seafarers in my ancestry, and I do love the coast.
        Trees are nice to photograph, but I find them very overpowering.

  2. Vicky always steals my thunder 😀 I like the open spaces and the coast too. Trees are lovely and I do like woods, but – I want a nice clear exit route and to be able to see around. They can be soooo spooky.

    In fact that one doesn’t look spooky. Might with lots of leaves on the trees though. And then there are all the noises too. Enjoyed the show.

    • Vicky says:

      Sorry K 😉
      You have put into words exactly what I meant though 🙂

    • Don’t need to escape so far though, easy to hide in a wood. The sense of height, power solitude and energy are what keep drawing me back and the distant vistas that open suddenly a constant surprise.

      Guess I am just a tree hugger.

Leave a Reply

