Marvellous Moped

Posted: April 26, 2012 in moped, raleigh runabout, restoration, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I have been sad for the last few days. My poor little 1963 Raleigh Runabout failed it’s MOT.

Now, I have never been mechanically minded, but I am slowly learning (what’s that about old dogs and new tricks) how to come to grips with 1960’s British / French engineering.

Fortunately the only issue was a broken and loose spokes and a couple of nuts that needed tightening.

Now, where can I get some spokes for a 1963 moped? Fortunately my new best friend raleigh-ace was able to provide precisely the thing I needed.

Wheel removed, tyre taken off, disaster. What looked like the original tube, covered in patches begins to disintegrate in my hands. I now have only 48 hours before the MOT advisory expires and I will have to pay for a whole new test. Cunning plan, use the rear wheel off my other Runabout.

All went well until I realised the sprockets needed to come off and then having done that, the brake cables on Red Raleigh weren’t long enough for the White Bike’s break adjuster. S**t.

Spokes fixed on the Red Raleigh wheel, this took about 10 minutes. I then spent three hours trying to mend punctures, holes, perished rubber. I knew from experience that the tubes are not that easy to come by.

Finally, my bike passed it’s MOT, just before the advisory expired. The icing on the cake, Rob my very special mechanic had an inner tube in stock and having seen this bike for the first time has christened it, ‘The Beast‘.

I am now back on the road and ready to burn up the town, at a whole 33 miles per hour! Apologies for the poor camera work!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZO9A9sPjaM&feature=youtu.be

Comments
  1. Vicky says:

    I was going to recommend A&k bike restorers in Gib if you hadn’t got it fixed 😀

  2. Well done. Like the sound effects in the vid too 🙂

  3. What a lovely machine. I was never allowed anything remotely mechanical on two wheels. I bought a moped from a pal for £5 when I was about 15 but my mum went crazy, dad forbad me from using it and put it in the garage – a couple of weeks later it was gone and I was never compensated!

    • My mum wouldn’t allow motorbikes or guns. My brother bought a Honda C90 and I joined the army, that worked then! If you still had that £5 moped it would be worth much more now

  4. alisonamazed says:

    Good ending to a tense scenario!

Leave a Reply

