Skullduggery in ‘Old London Tahn’

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Olympic ideal, sports

I see the Chinese have come clean. The coach has apologised for telling his team the best way to win. Now, there are two ways of looking at this. The banning of the team from the games is, I would suggest, in the true spirit of the Olympic ideal. To be the best you can, compete fairly and with vigour against all comers to overcome.

On the other hand, in this day of professional sport (and I think I can take it as read that no-one imagines the Olympics are amateur) the goal is to come first at all costs without regard to rules that get in the way.

I hope that all teams, and individuals, learn that they live on the support of people who pay to see them perfom. To give less than 100% is disrespectful. I wonder what my employer would think if I decided to take it easy because I thought I didn’t need to work as hard as usual on any given day? He would stop paying me, and that is what the sports supporters should do.

Comments
  1. No-one plays by the rules any more. Not just in sport either 😦

    Anyway this was a timely reminder for me. I had a nag that I had missed something off my blog post and it was the two British golds. We might not get any more so best to make the most of the ones we have got 😀

Leave a Reply

