Mea Culpa, Mea Culpa, Mea Maxima Culpa

Posted: August 7, 2012 in environment, garden
Tags: , , ,

I have been guilty of a most heinous offence against nature. It was entirely unintentional and purely accidental. I seek absolution for this sin.

I have been moving things in my shed. Winter approaches (did it actually leave?) Logs for my burner moved to a more convenient position for bringing indoors when it rains. I worked for several hours when, to my horror, I realised I had been the unwitting bailiff in Gods creation and a poor little field mouse had lost his home.

Yes, it’s true. I knew we had field mice overwintering in my garage. Every year I make sure there is plenty of material for bedding and food for my little visitors. I had no idea they had expanded to the point where they had taken up residence in Chez Shed. I suppose the only good thing is that at this time of year they will have returned to wherever they come from.

So there we have it, my unexpected house / shed guests have had their beds destroyed by an unthinking pigpen.

Later this year I will have to get a box for them so I don’t disturb them when I start taking the new logs which will soon replace the old.

Comments
  1. I’ll send you my mice. And rats. And feral cats. And cockroaches of course (to eat perhaps?) You can home all my unwanted animals in your sanctuary. I’ll stick to chickens, donkeys (OK haven’t got those yet), dogs and nice animals that a) don’t invade my house/garden and leave unwanted presents b) eat my baby chickens and c) don’t lay eggs or look cute.

  2. And I will let you have the seagulls that are nesting on my roof!

  3. Vicky says:

    A few years ago, my youngest was removing the mouldy hay bales at the stables where she helped out, and came across a nest of baby mice, realising she’d destroyed their home, she brought them home, to live in my airing cupboard, until the local wildlife rescue collected them from us.
    They phoned her a few weeks later to say they’d all survived, and had been released into the wild. 🙂

  4. Guilty of a heinous offence against other bloggers too. Have days off been cancelled altogether in the pen?

Leave a Reply

