I see that Bill Gates is spending a fortune of supporting scientific work into alternate toilets.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-19271061

I quote:

‘The project challenged inventors to come up with a toilet that operated without running water, electricity or a septic system. It needed to operate at a cost of no more than five cents (3p) a day and would ideally capture energy or other resources.’

Er what about composting toilets, they don’t cost anything to run, in real terms. They are undemanding of resources do not use water electric or septic systems, can be made out of almost anything and capture compost which helps build soil fertility. No techy solution difficult to repair or obtain replacement parts produced at a cost of CO2.

I strongly believe in the KISS principle. If you want alternate energy, install solar or wind, use your poo to grow food.

 

Comments
  1. I haven’t even commented on the first post yet! You can always rely on the BBC to provide you with a grumpy rant 🙂

    I must say when I was reading it, my first thought was compost toilets. Plenty of alternative models around so why waste money designing hi-tech ones? If only you and I ran the world…..

  2. sybaritica says:

    I have a bucket he can have for, say… a million 🙂

  3. Vicky says:

    Hasn’t it already been invented?

    http://www.ecosan.co.za/introduction.html

    I saw a program on TV recently, about health and sanitation in third world countries, the toilet in question worked on the same principle as the above link.

    • I have a photo of my old man in the army sitting on a couple of horizontal poles over a pit, doesn’t that work?
      I watched a clip on you tube, which I now can’t find, of a guy who used a garden shed an IBC 1000 litre containers and a ‘thunder box’ to make a composting toilet about 300 quid all in, could I sell that to Bill I wonder?

Leave a Reply

