Nights

Posted: September 6, 2012 in crime, Justice and Fairplay, Poem, Police, sun
Tags: , , ,

The dark depressing hours pass,

The screen flickers burning the back of my eyes,

The dross of society keeps me busy,

Damaging our society.

The victim, lost, confused and scared,

Lays blame where they can,

You should have prevented this

Where the hell were you?

Dawn filters through the mist,

The light grows bright and strong

Words burn on the screen tumbling

From my fingers.

Reports all done time for home,

The engine roar brings sanity.

Few cars abroad on the twisty

Cold dawn air to waken me

Comments
  1. Vicky says:

    Excellent!
    My youngest would like that too, she’s currently on night four of a seven night shift.

    • I only have to do three, but it’s enough. Seven is too many for me but I used to 7 x 7 x 7 x 7 when I was younger and it didn’t seem a problem. Maybe it was because I was enthusiastic, I did used to be you know.

      Sympathy to youngest hope tonight is better for her than last night was for me!

      • Vicky says:

        Was it enthusiasm, or didn’t you get say in the matter?
        My daughter is totally dedicated, but she doesn’t get a choice, the only saving grace is she gets a week off afterwards to recharge.

  2. Well I didn’t get a say, but I would have done them anyway, it was all the exciting stuff happened. I get three off after my 3 nights, it’s not enough. Is she a nurse?

  3. Very good. Still at least they produce some blog posts πŸ™‚

    • Why, thank you m’lady. The only problem with nights is that I feel dreadful afterwards for weeks, must be the advancing years. But, at this time of year on a clear day, the ride to and from work is sublime, little traffic and the skies can be stunning.

Leave a Reply

